Sep 29, 2020
The Unicorn Quest
Posted by Kamilla Benko

Claire Martinson still worries about her older sister Sophie, who battled a mysterious illness last year But things are back to normal as they move into Windermere Manor until the sisters climb a strange ladder in a fireplace and enter the magical land of Arden There, they find a world in turmoil The four guilds of magic no longer trust each other The beloved unicorClaire Martinson still worries about her older sister Sophie, who battled a mysterious illness last year But things are back to normal as they move into Windermere Manor until the sisters climb a strange ladder in a fireplace and enter the magical land of Arden There, they find a world in turmoil The four guilds of magic no longer trust each other The beloved unicorns have gone, and terrible wraiths roam freely Scared, the girls return home But when Sophie vanishes, it will take all of Claire s courage to climb back up the ladder, find her sister, and uncover the unicorns greatest secret.

  • Title: The Unicorn Quest
  • Author: Kamilla Benko
  • ISBN: 9781681192451
  • Page: 278
  • Format: Hardcover
  • The Unicorn Quest Claire Martinson still worries about her older sister Sophie who battled a mysterious illness last year But things are back to normal as they move into Windermere Manor until the sisters climb a stra

    Roshani Chokshi

    A lovely, tender middle grade by the fabulous Kamilla Benko I m a sucker for sibling stories, and the sister relationship here is the best kind of painful heartbreak Highly recommend for fans of portal fantasy This is the kind of transportive, magical read that turns readers into writers.


    Jessica

    Utterly delightful Taps into the wonderful childhood fantasy of finding a secret door to another world And what an unusual world A world that is full of magic, but new and very well thought out magic Benko s world building is excellent, as is her portrayal of the two sisters, and their relationship.


    K.K. Pérez

    A wonderful, old school MG fantasy perfect for fans of Tamora Pierce


    Glasstown Entertainment

    Fabulous middle grade fantasy from a debut author Perfect for fans of Narnia


    Amy Martin

    Such a fun adventure in a magical world filled with surprising twists And UNICORNS


    Lori

    This was okay but not nearly as good as it could have been I love sister books but the sisters are barely together in this one The action is good but there is so much time between exciting scenes that it just gets really slow and boring in the middle I admit that I skimmed some of the travel parts This is definitely one of those MG books that will appeal to the younger crowd but not necessarily transfer to older groups Especially because there are a lot of very convenient fixes that had me roll [...]


    Rachel Libke

    There was a WYVERN


    Stacie

    The Unicorn Quest, by Kamilla Benko, is an enchanting fantasy adventure that harkens back to stories of old.It is the tale of two sisters, Claire Sophie, who find an entryway into the magical land of Arden in their new home, Windermere Manor When Sophie disappears, Claire must journey across Arden on a quest to find her sister Of course, there will be challenges Arden is a land in trouble Its unicorns have disappeared and its four guilds are not getting along Claire will need to use her brain, s [...]


    Kaitlyn

    I absolutely ADORED this charming, fast paced sibling adventure Benko has written the kind of magical story that I love Her characters are fully developed, her world is brilliantly conceived, and she writes extraordinarily beautiful sentences You cannot go wrong with this book


    Ms. Yingling

    E ARC provided by the publisherWhen Claire and her sister Sophie move into Windemere Manor after the death of their great aunt Diana, who collected all manor of odd objects, they aren t entirely sure what to do with themselves Sophie is recovering from an undisclosed illness, and their parents are still overly protective and scared for her Claire is scared as well, but irritated that Sophie doesn t spend as much time with her as she used to When the sisters investigate an odd chimney in the hous [...]


    Cara

    This was a decent story that really lagged in places The middle felt like it could ve used a trim The end was exciting, but it just took me so long to get there.


    Jennifer Alvarez

    I loved this story Benko has created a rich and magical world called Arden where all the unicorns have disappeared Two sisters, Claire and Sophie, stumble upon Arden after moving into the mysterious Windemere Manor with their parents, but all is not well in the magical realm The four guilds of magic don t trust one another, and it doesn t feel safe After Sophie suddenly disappears, Claire musters the courage to return to Arden to find her Along the way, she learns secrets about the unicorns, abo [...]


    Grace

    This book is an enjoyable adventure where two sisters discover that their great aunt s fireplace is a portal to another world One sister embarks on a quest to find the other across the new world, which features distinct flavors of magic, a grim historical backstory, and finally a plot twist While probably something fun for young fantasy fans, everything about it was somewhat less than I had hoped for a good story, but nothing crazy memorable.


    Stacy Mozer

    When Claire Martinson follows her older sister Sophie up a ladder in the fireplace of her aunt s house she has no idea that she will be entering another world After being chased by a shadow creature, Claire makes Sophie promise to never go up the ladder again When Sophie breaks that promise it is up to Claire to save her I loved this new middle grade fantasy, which will hit the shelves in February 2018 I was lucky to get my hands on a copy at Book Expo America and can t wait to share it with my [...]


    Kristen Beverly

    I LOVED this book It s SO much fun, as well as beautifully and vividly written I felt like I could really see the story playing out in my mind like a movie It s perfect for the age range, as well as adults who enjoy reading these kinds of books as well It has pretty much everything that you can ask for out of a book magic and unicorns I really loved the bond between the sisters, Sophie and Claire, and am excited to see where the series goes next


    Cindy

    I finished reading Kamilla Benko s delightful UNICORN QUEST yesterday, and it was such fun Claire is the kind of heroine it s impossible not to pull for her determination to be brave despite her natural anxiousness really tugged on my heartstrings The adventure itself felt like such a lovely callback to my favorite middle grade fantasies from childhood I can t wait for the world to discover this wonderful book


    Joy McCullough

    I got to read an ARC of this book and it is SO lovely It s beautifully written, with terrific character development It s got extremely clear personal stakes for the main character, beautifully drawn from the get go The world building is fantastic, the plot drives forward very nicely Wonderful, complicated sister dynamic I will definitely be recommending this book to MG fantasy readers and looking forward to the sequel.


    Matt Richman

    An immersive world and an engaging flow drive this debut novel by Kamilla Benko Readers feel lucky to be along for the ride as they are whisked away to a sprawling mansion, gloomy caves, and glittering magical industrial centers Rarely are we left anywhere but the edge of our seat Both boys and girls aged 10 to 14 will enjoy immensely, and will look forward to a sequel.


    Darcy Miller

    A must read for young fantasy fans I mean, adventure, magic, unicorns, AND a reluctant heroine that you can t stop rooting for Trust me, you re going to want to see where the mysterious ladder inside the fireplace leads .


    Jen Petro-Roy

    This was so, so good A worthy heir to THE LION, THE WITCH, THE WARDROBE.


    Catherine Tinker

    This had me at the title.


    Karina

    An amazing, action packed fantasy story, sure to delight middle grade readers


    Emily

    This book is so beautiful and magical, just like a unicorn Highly recommended to any Shannon Hale fans out there


    Ellie

    Kamilla Benko is an exceptionally talented young author to watch this was one of the best middle grade fantasy novels I have read in years Moving, exciting, and written in a beautiful voice.


    Hilary Scroggie

    More delightful middle grade magic, with a great sibling relationship at its heart Also, unicorns are cool.


    Alexandra Ott

    This is such a fun middle grade adventure It s beautifully written and full of magic The characters are great, too, and I adore the sister relationship Fantasy fans will love this one


    Alexa Wejko

    MY WHOLE HEART The Unicorn Quest is chock full of tenderness, heart, courage, an awesome girl MC, and a timeless adventure Plus duh, unicorns Kamilla Benko is an instant classic.


    Wendy MacKnight

    What a wonderful story Sisters, secrets, magical worlds this book has it all, along with exquisite writing and beautiful storytelling Really magical Can t wait fir book 2


    Laurie

    Interest Level 3 6 Reading Level 6.4 kidlitexchange partner Thanks to the kidlitexchange network for the review copy of this book all opinions are my own.Imagine that you and your family have to spend the summer in your late great aunt s antique filled mansion because she has gone missing and presumably dead on one of her treasure hunting trips How boring would that be, right Well that s what Claire thought This was supposed to be a summer filled with sleepovers with best friends and summer camp [...]


    Mundie Moms & Mundie Kids

    An unforgettable, magical adventure This is a fantasy story perfect for fans of magic, sibling relationships, and an unforgettable adventure to a whole new world With mystery, danger, and betrayal, this is one middle grade fantasy readers will quickly fall in love with FULL REVIEW mundiekids 2018



    • The Unicorn Quest Best Read || [Kamilla Benko]
      Kamilla Benko